Subfertility

What is Subfertility?

From the medical point of view, a couple is considered 'sub-fertile' when they fail to conceive after one year of regular, unprotected sexual intercourse.

If the couple has regular sexual activity, what is the chance of pregnancy?

Becoming pregnant is such a complex process that there is a much greater probability of not becoming pregnant during a menstrual cycle than becoming pregnant. Even for fertile couple having regular unprotected intercourse, the chance of pregnancy within one's menstrual cycle is not more than 25%.

Can more frequent sexual intercourse help to increase the chance of pregnancy?

Too frequent sexual intercourse, say once every night, may result in decrease in number of sperm in semen. On the contrary, too infrequent sexual intercourse, say less than once per week, may lower the motility of sperm. Both conditions may adversely reduce the chance of pregnancy. The couple is therefore advised to maintain regular normal intercourse, say two to three times a week, with a slight increase in frequency (such as once every 2 days) around the time of ovulation.

Is Subfertility a common problem?

Yes. It affects 1 in every 6 couples. Subfertility rate increases with female age, particularly in women in their thirties and forties.

Subfertility Factors

Are women accountable for the cause of subfertility?

Both female and male can have problems of subfertility. Epidemiological studies show that female and male factors each account for about 30% of subfertility cases respectively, and the remaining 40% is either suffered from a joint problem or had no cause identified (unexplained subfertility). It has to be emphasized that a combination of female and male problems frequently co-exists, so both couple should be involved during the process of evaluation.

What are the subfertility factors?

♂ Causes of male subfertility: Any unfavorable factors that affect the production or transportation of sperm can lead to male subfertility e.g., smoking, alcohol, undescended testes, varicose vein in the scrotum, or damage of genital tract from previous infection or operation. Besides, recent studies have shown that hereditary factor can be one of the causes to account for no sperm or very low sperm count in some patients.

♀ Causes of female subfertility: Various causes can account for female subfertility, e.g. ovulatory disorders due to hormonal disturbances, pelvic adhesion or blockage of fallopian tubes resulting from endometriosis or pelvic infection /operation, or structural abnormalities of the uterus. Besides, female ageing also affects the natural ability to get pregnant because of the progressive decrease in ovarian reserve.

Unexplained subfertility: If a detailed history and examination followed by complete investigation still fail to give a clear explanation, it is called "unexplained subfertility". In this group of patients, the main factors affecting the chance of conceiving naturally are the woman's age and the duration of subfertility. The natural ability to get pregnant will drop significantly in those women who have advanced age or prolonged subfertility for more than three years.

Scope of Investigation

Doctor will try to answer the following four basic questions to identity the cause of subfertility:

  1. Is there any coital difficulty?
  2. Is there a problem with his sperm?
  3. Is there a problem with her ovulation?
  4. Is there a problem with her genital tract?

If there is coital difficulty, what can we do?

In any case, if a man cannot ejaculate in female's vagina, they are considered to have problem in sexual intercourse. Coital difficulty may result from physical or psychological factors. Couples should seek early assessment as they may resume normal sex life through special treatment and counseling services.

Investigation Methods: Male

How to test the quality of sperms?

Besides detailed medical history and examination, semen analysis is the single most important test in evaluating his fertility. Seminal analysis includes semen volume and acidity, sperm count, sperm motility and sperm morphology. The most common causes of male subfertility are low sperm count, low sperm motility or presence of sperms with morphological defects. In some cases, further investigations such as anti-sperm antibody, sperm function tests, hormonal tests, microbiological assessment of the semen and imaging of the male genital tract may be necessary. However, this should be initiated in the specialist subfertility centre.

Why should we need to collect at least two semen samples?

One of the reasons for abnormal semen analysis is the inaccurate collection of the specimen, or history of recent illness that may affect the production of sperm. Therefore, at least two abnormal samples collected on separate occasions at least 3 months apart are necessary to make a diagnosis of male factor subfertility.

Investigation Methods: Female

How to test ovulation status?

Women who have irregular or absent periods are usually suffered from ovulatory disorders. On the other hand, although regular menstrual cycle usually implies normal ovulation, it is not always true. Some specific test, such as basal body temperature chart, urinary ovulatory kit, or other tests which can detect ovulation, may be required to determine the ovulatory status.

  • Basal body temperature chart:The woman should take oral temperature every morning before she gets out of bed and plot the daily temperature changes. A rise in temperature of about half a degree Celsius around mid-cycle, and maintaining for the remaining days until the next menstruation will suggest that ovulation has occurred.
  • Urinary ovulatory kit:It can detect urinary LH surge and help the couples to plan sexual intercourse around time of ovulation so as to increase the chance of pregnancy.

How to detect female genital tract problems?

It can be detect by the following methods:

  • Ultrasound scan: This is a painless test performed by applying a probe over the abdomen, or by inserting a probe into the vagina. It can detect the abnormalities of the uterus or the ovaries.
  • Hysterosalpingogram (HSG): Blockage of the fallopian tubes and structural abnormality of the uterus may be diagnosed through X-ray examination after injecting dye into the genital tract. This test needs no operation or anaesthesia. However, the disadvantage is that it provides no information on peritoneal diseases such as endometriosis or pelvic adhesion.
  • Laparoscopy and dye studies:The operation is performed under general anaesthesia. It enables the doctor to directly view the surface of the uterus, pelvic cavity, fallopian tubes and ovaries, and can identify pathologies like endometriosis, pelvic adhesion, tubal blockage and ovarian diseases. This is the most comprehensive examination for both the peritoneal cavity and the fallopian tubes, and therapeutic surgery can be performed at the same time.
  • Hysteroscopy:This is usually performed at the same time with laparoscopy. A probe is inserted into the uterus through the vagina. The inner lining of the uterus can be seen. Abnormalities such as intrauterine adhesion or congenital uterine abnormality can be detected.

Treatment Methods

Is subfertility = sterility?

No. After treatment, there is about two-third of couples treated for subfertility will eventually have their own babies. Below are some of the general measures before undergoing treatment:

  • Avoid smoking in both couples
  • Keep body weight normal as significant overweight or underweight will cause difficulty to get pregnant.
  • Proper diet and exercise are important for optimal reproductive function.
  • Make sure woman has rubella antibody

Medical Treatment

For women with ovulatory problem, ovulation induction can be achieved by using oral or injectable hormones to stimulate the growth and release of egg. However, there may be more than one mature egg stimulated resulting in a higher risk of multiple pregnancies.

Surgical Treatment

For women with tubal damage or endometriosis, surgery can be attempted to repair the damage. However, not all cases of tubal damage are amenable to surgical treatment. In cases where surgical correction cannot be performed or failed, in-vitro fertilization should be considered.

Assisted Conception Methods

Intra-uterine Insemination of Husband's semen (IUI)

  • The husband will be asked to produce a semen sample via masturbation. The collected semen is processed in the laboratory to increase the number of motile sperm in normal forms. The doctor will then transfer the processed sperm back to the female uterus matching with her time of ovulation. The procedure requires no anaesthesia
  • This simple procedure is only suitable for couples with coital problem, borderline male problem and unexplained subfertility.

In-vitro Fertilization (IVF)

  • In-vitro Fertilization, also named 'test tube baby', is a method of assisted reproductive technology which involves stimulation of wife's ovaries to produce an optimum number of eggs; retrieval of eggs and sperm from wife and husband respectively; fertilization of eggs and sperm outside the human body in the laboratory; and finally transfer of fertilized eggs (embryos) back to the female uterus.
  • The procedure is usually recommended for women with tubal damage or severe endometriosis
  • Together with intra-cytoplasmic sperm injection, it is the treatment of choice for couples with severe male problem.
  • Up to now, there is no evidence that ""test tube babies"" have a higher chance of congenital abnormalities.

Intra-cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI)

  • An additional procedure of which a single sperm is injected directly into the egg under microscopic control in the laboratory so as to assist fertilization.
  • This procedure may improve fertilization in cases of severe male factor subfertility or previous history of failed fertilization at IVF

Gamete Intra-fallopian Transfer (GIFT)

  • This method is similar to IVF, except that the eggs and sperm are injected simultaneously into the fallopian tube through laparoscopy in the operating theatre. Fertilization takes place within the body, but not in the laboratory as in IVF.

Artificial Insemination of Donors (AID)

  • The procedure is similar to the intrauterine insemination, except that donor's sperm is used instead of husband's sperm
  • This may fulfill the childbearing wishes of some infertile couples who have no sperm or very poor semen parameters.

Seeking Medical Consultation

Couples should consider seeking earlier medical consultation if they are:

♀ Female: Age at late thirties, three or more miscarriage experience, long and irregular menstrual cycle, short menstrual cycle at three week or less intervals, pain during menstruation or sexual intercourse, history of endometriosis, pelvic infection, and pelvic or ovarian operation.

♂ Male: Had mumps in childhood, history of prostate infection, undescended testis, varicocele, and erectile or ejaculatory problem.

Remarks: Treatment success rate decreases remarkably with increasing female age. Even with the use of advanced assisted reproductive technologies, the success rate for women aged over 45 is more or less equal to ZERO. Do not delay seeking professional help!

Where to Get Help?

1st Step: The basic subfertility evaluation and treatment can be carried out by gynaecologists. FPAHK's Subfertility Service offers investigations for couples who have difficulty in childbearing and can suggest appropriate management.

2nd Step: If there is no identifiable cause for subfertility or if the couples do not conceive after medical or surgical treatment within a given time, they may be referred to a specialist in subfertility centers or an Assisted Reproductive Unit of public or private hospitals.

3rd Step: If all the treatments have failed or the couples are not suitable for treatment, they could either accept to be childless or consider adoption. Further information can be obtained from the Adoption Unit of the Social Welfare Department at 3595 1935.

Related Links

不育

不育的定義

若一對夫婦的性生活正常,並連續在 12 個月內沒有採用任何避孕措施而仍然未能成功懷孕,便可定義為不育。

不育是否一種常見現象?

是。據統計,每 6 對夫婦,便有 1 對有不育的情況。隨著年齡增長,女性不育的機會率便相對增加,年過 40 的婦女尤甚。

若夫婦的生育能力正常,女方懷孕的機會有多高?

懷孕是一個複雜的過程。在月經周經中,不能成孕的機會,遠高於能成孕的機會。在一般情況下,即使夫婦雙方的生育能力正常,有正常的性行為,並沒有採用任何避孕措施,女方在每次月經周期內的懷孕機會亦不會超過 25%。

增加行方次數能否提高懷孕機會?

一般而言,若行房過密,如每晚1次,可能會減低精液中精蟲的數量。相反來說,若行房太疏,如超過 1 星期 1 次,則可能降低精蟲的活躍能力。所以我們建議,夫婦在平常的時候可保持一星期兩至三次的正常性行為,但在女方排卵期間可增加行房的次數,例如隔天一次,來提高受孕的機會。

不育的成因

不育是否只是女性的問題?

導致不育的原因很多,男女雙方都有機會不育,雙方亦可同時存在問題,因此夫婦雙方在評估過程中均需參與。在不育的個案之中,約有三成的原因在於女方、三成在於男方,其餘則屬共同的原因或原因不明。

不育的成因為何?

♂ 男性因素:任何可影響精蟲製造或輸送的不良因素, 如吸煙,飲酒,睪丸下降異常, 陰囊靜脈曲張,生殖器官因手術或發炎而受損等,都可能導致男性不育。另外,最近的研究發現,男性如有無精症或精蟲極稀少的問題,其中有部分是由於遺傳因素所致。

♀ 女性因素:卵巢機能不全、內分泌失調而引致排卵異常、盆腔炎或子宮內膜異位而引致輸卵管閉塞或盆腔內黏連、先天性子宮結構異常等都會導致女性不育。另外、女性因年紀大而不育的情況亦漸趨普遍。

原因不明:若詳盡的病歷及檢查,再加上全面的診查,均無法得出有關夫婦不育的明確解釋,這種情況稱「成因不明的不育」。此類夫婦則使找不出不育的原 因,但若女方年紀大或不育年期超過 3 年者,其自然受孕的機會亦會大幅下降,故應及早向專科醫生求診。

檢驗範圍

醫生會分別從下列 4 個範圍找出導致不育的原因:

  1. 夫婦能否圓房?
  2. 丈夫的精子是否正常?
  3. 妻子的排卵情況是否正常?
  4. 妻子的生殖道是否正常?

若夫婦未能圓房,怎麼辦?

在任何情況下,若丈夫不能在妻子的陰道內射精,便屬行房有困難。行房問題可源於生理或心理因素,透過醫生的診治及心理輔導,可 協助夫婦重過正常的性生活。

檢驗方法:男性

如何測定精子是否正常?

男性生育能力的評估,除了透過查詢個人病史及作身體檢查外,最重要的是進行精液分析。精液分析會量度精液量,精液酸鹼度,並檢驗精子的數量、形態及活動能力。一般而言,精子數量不足、活動力弱、及形態異常是最常見的男性不育問題。另外,男士如需作進一步檢查,如抑制精子抗體測試、激素測試、精液微生物檢定、男性生殖器官造影等,便需於不育專科治療中心內進行。

為甚麼要收集兩個或以上的精液樣本?

由於患病、服藥或收集精液樣本方法不當等,均會導致精液分析結果出現異常情況。因此,男士需要呈交最少兩個精液樣本作化驗,而兩次採樣本的時間相隔最少3個月,這樣才可斷定是否有男性不育的問題。

檢驗方法:女性

如何測定排卵情況是否正常?

經期不規則或沒有來經,可能是排卵出現問題。但就算定期來經,亦不一定表示有排卵。要確定婦女有否排卵,須進行體溫探測法、尿液檢驗排卵工具、或其他檢驗排卵測試等,以作判斷:

  • 探測體溫:方法是在每天早上睡醒後,在進行任何活動前,探取口腔溫度,並作出紀錄。若紀錄表示從月經周期中段開始至下一次來經為止,體溫上升約攝氏 0.5 度,即表示排卵正常。
  • 尿液檢驗排卵工具:尿液化驗工具可檢查排卵狀況,有助夫婦安排在排卵期間行房,提高受孕機會。

如何檢驗女性的生殖道?

女性生殖道的檢驗方法包括:

  • 超聲波掃瞄:方法是把探管放在腹部上或插入陰道內,來進行超聲波掃瞄檢驗。這是一項無痛、沒有損傷性的內臟檢查方法,可檢驗子宮或卵巢是否有異常情況。
  • 子宮輸卵管造影術:方法是經女性陰道在生殖道內注入染色劑,然後透過X光照片診斷輸卵管是否有閉塞,或子宮結構是否異常等情況。這並非一項外科手術,亦毋須在麻醉下進行。 但這方法的弱點是不能提供有關腹膜疾病,如子宮內膜異位、或盆腔內黏連等資料。
  • 腹腔鏡手術及染劑檢查:這項手術須在全身麻醉下進行,醫生會透過腹腔鏡直接檢視子宮外層、盆腔、輸卵管及卵巢。診斷是否有子宮內膜異位、盆腔內黏連、輸卵管閉塞、或卵巢疾病等問題。這是一項 全 面的盆腔及輸卵管檢查,醫生並且可在進行腹腔鏡期間,同時施行不育治療手術。
  • 子宮鏡檢查:子宮鏡檢查通常與腹腔鏡檢查同時進行。方法是把內窺鏡從陰道伸進子宮內,檢視子宮內壁是否有黏連,或先天子宮結構異常等情況。

治療方法

不育 = 沒有生育能力?

不是。經治療後,約有三分之二的不育夫婦能成功懷孕。接受治療前,夫婦應注意的事項:

  • 夫婦雙方應避免吸煙。
  • 保持體重適中,因為過輕或過重會減低受孕的機會。
  • 均衡飲食及適量運動,有助促進生育功能。
  • 女方應確保體內存有德國麻疹抗體。

藥物治療

沒有排卵的婦女,可透過服用或注射激素,促使卵巢釋放成熟的卵子。但若卵巢同時釋放多過一粒的卵子,便可能會導致有多胞胎的情況出現。

手術治療

輸卵管受損及子宮內膜異位的婦女,可透過外科手術作出矯正。但若婦女無法施行手術或手術失敗,便需嘗試進行體外受精。

輔助生殖科技

子宮內精液注射

  • 方法:先在實驗室內,從丈夫提交的精液樣本之中,抽取形態正常及具活動能力的精子,成為高濃度的精液樣本。在配合妻子服用激素誘導排卵後,再將高濃度的精液樣本注入子宮內。此方法毋須進行麻醉。
  • 只適用於行房有困難、男性精液有輕微問題、或不育成因不明的夫婦。

體外受精(試管嬰兒)

  • 方法:先從丈夫及妻子體內分別取出精子和卵子,然後在實驗室內,把精子及卵子結合成為胚胎 (受精卵),再把胚胎放回女性的子宮內成長。
  • 適用於輸卵管受損、或有嚴重子宮內膜異位的不育個案。
  • 若將這方法結合「卵胞漿內單精子注射」,則可同時治療嚴重的男性不育問題。
  • 時至今日,醫學界並無證據顯示,試管嬰兒有較大機會出現先天性異常的情況。

卵胞漿內單精子注射

  • 方法:在實驗室內,將單一精子直接注射於已抽出體外的女性卵子之內來提高受精比率。
  • 可幫助嚴重缺乏正常精子、或輸精管受損的不育個案。

輸卵管內配子移植

  • 方法與「體外受精」類同,分別在於這方法是在手術室內,將卵子和精子同時注入輸卵管內,使受精卵直接在人體內形成,而非如體外受精般在實驗室內形成

供精人工受精

  • 利用子宮內精液注射的方法,將捐精者的精液注入女性子宮內而達到妊娠目的。
  • 適用於丈夫精子質素不佳、活動力較弱、或精子數量過低,甚至沒有 精子等的個案。

尋求醫生指導

計劃生育的夫婦若有下列情況,便應考慮及早接受檢查:

女性:年齡超過 35 歲、曾流產 3 次或以上、月經周期長而不穩定、月經周期過短如 3 星期或以下、行經期間有腹痛、行房時有痛楚不適、曾患子宮內膜異位、曾患盆腔感染、或曾接受盆腔或卵巢手術。

男性:童年時曾患流行性腮腺炎、曾感染前列腺炎、曾患睪丸不降、有精囊靜脈曲張,或有勃起或射精的困難。

注意:不育治療的成功機會乃是隨著女性的年齡的增加而下降。即使採用先進的生殖科技協助,45 歲以上的女性能成功受孕的機會亦近乎零。因此,及早治療有助加快成孕的機會。

求助途徑

第 1 步: 約見婦科醫生進行身體檢查、評估及治療。家計會「生育指導服務」為成孕有困難的夫婦進行檢查及診斷難孕的原因,並建議適當的處理方法。

第 2 步: 若無法找出導致不育的成因,或在接受一定時間的治療後仍無法成孕,可把個案轉介往專門治理不育的私立醫院或醫管局轄下醫院(包括威爾斯親王醫院、瑪麗醫院和廣華醫院)的輔助生育組或不育治療中心,作進一步的檢驗。

第 3 步: 若經各種治療後仍未能成功懷孕者,可考慮放棄生育計劃,或領養子女。有關申請領養子女的詳情,請向「社會福利署領養課」查詢,查詢電話 3595 1935。

相關連結