Erectile Dysfunction

What is erectile dysfunction?

Erectile dysfunction, also known as impotence, means the persistent inability to obtain or to maintain an erection adequate for satisfactory sexual performance. It simply describes the failure to get enough blood in the penis and hold it there to maintain rigidity. It carries no implication on sexual desire, orgasm or ejaculation.

Who is affected by erectile dysfunction?

Erectile dysfunction is a very common medical condition with significant consequences. Research shows that over 50% of men aged between 40 to 70 have experienced some degree of erectile dysfunction, and the prevalence increases with age.

What causes erectile dysfunction?

Erectile dysfunction is caused by physical or psychological factors, or a combination of the two. Common causes include cigarette smoking, alcohol and drug abuse, atherosclerosis, hypertension, diabetes mellitus, neurological disorder, pelvic surgery, pelvic and spinal cord injuries, medication and depression.

Since erectile dysfunction can be an early symptom of such underlying medical conditions, it is essential for patients to seek early diagnosis and treatment.

What are the consequences of erectile dysfunction?

Erectile dysfunction has profound impact on a patient's quality of life. The inability to perform sexually makes him feel inferior or unmanly, leading to feelings of inhibition, self-condemnation, poor self-image and self-esteem. Erectile dysfunction not only means loss of sexual satisfaction, it also adversely affects interpersonal relationships. Patients are often reluctant to admit their problem and will try to cover up their condition. They will avoid sexual contact with their partners, often resulting in marriage breakdown.

How can erectile dysfunction be treated?

Treatment of erectile dysfunction has improved in recent years. A number of methods are now available, including psychological treatment, injection therapy, vacuum device, penile prosthesis and oral medication. Viagra is the most widely used oral medication.

Viagra

Viagra (Sildenafil) works by reducing the breakdown of one of the chemicals in the penis that helps to relax blood vessels and enhance blood flow. Viagra is not an aphrodisiac as it does not increase sexual appetite and will not make a normal erection harder or last longer. It only restores impaired erectile function and only works with sexual stimulation. Caution in the use of Viagra, Patients with the following contra-indications should not take Viagra:

  • On nitrate therapy
  • Unstable angina
  • Severe heart disease or heart failure
  • Recent stroke or heart attack (within 6 months)
  • Retinitis pigmentosa

Related Links

陽萎

甚麼是陽萎?

陽萎又稱為勃起功能障礙,是指男性在勃起時,因陰莖硬度或勃起時間不足,以致不能達到圓滿的性交。陽萎是基於陰莖未能充份充血所致,並非表示患者在性慾、性高潮及射精等方面出現問題。

哪些人有陽萎的問題?

陽萎是一種非常普遍的生理毛病,並可帶來深遠的影響。研究顯示,過半數介乎 40 至 70 歲的男性曾出現某程度的勃起功能障礙,而年紀愈大出現障礙的機會愈高。

為甚麼會出現陽萎?

陽萎主要是由生理因素、心理因素,或是這兩種因素結合所致。陽萎的主要成因包括:吸煙、酗酒、濫用藥物、血管硬化、高血壓、糖尿病、神經系統疾病、曾接受骨盤手術、骨盤或脊髓受傷、長期服用藥物、抑鬱等。

由於陽萎可能是上述疾病的初期表徵,因此患者應及早延醫,並作身體檢查,以便對症下藥。

陽萎有甚麼後果?

陽萎會嚴重影響患者的生活質素。持續不能成功勃起及進行性行為,會令他們感到自卑、失去男兒氣慨,繼而怯懦、自責、自我形象低落及自尊心受損。陽萎不單令患者失去性愛的樂趣,更會損及與他人的關係。他們往往不願意承認問題的存在,甚至企圖掩飾事實,寧可避免與伴侶有性接觸,以致令婚姻出現危機。

陽萎可以治療嗎?

近年來,治療陽萎的方法經不斷改良,可供患者使用的有多種,包括心理治療、藥物注射、真空器、人工陰莖及口服藥物等。在口服藥物之中,又以「威而鋼」目前獲最廣泛的使用。

威而鋼的治療原理

「威而鋼」化學名稱為 Sildenafil,能減低陰莖內某些化學物質的分解,令海綿體內的血管鬆馳,增加血液流入,使陰莖能夠持續勃起。但「威而鋼」並非春藥,不能令患者性慾大增,亦不能讓正常勃起的陰莖增加其堅硬度,或延長勃起的時間。「威而鋼」必須在性愛刺激下方能發揮其功效,恢復陰莖勃起的狀態。使用「威而鋼」的禁忌症不適宜使用「威而鋼」的男士包括:

  • 正接受硝酸鹽類的藥物治療
  • 間歇性的心絞痛
  • 嚴重的心臟病或心臟衰竭
  • 在過去半年曾患心臟病或中風
  • 視網膜色素病變

相關連結